Blake Griffin on Tax Revenue and Fine Inelastic Flopping

“It’s a good way for the NBA to get more money. I guess it’s good in the sense that it stops any of that from happening but at the same time you’re telling me if it’s Game 7 of the NBA Finals and a guy has a chance to make a play, he’s going to be like, ‘Well, do I want this $10,000 or do I want a championship?’ Do you know what I mean? It’s one of those things that’s after the fact and not going to win or lose games for anybody.”

link (truehoop)

 

My 25 cents on flopping: People who think this is some sort of European import didn’t grow up playing organized ball with the same type of refs as I did. As a center on defense, you really had to do some flopping (or letting-yourself-falling) just to avoid picking up defensive fouls. If you pick up the charge too thats cool, but I had many many conversations with refs that went something like this:

“How was that a defensive foul? I had my arms up and he ran into me.”

“You were not straight up.”

“I wasn’t straight up because as he barreled into me knocking off balance…”

“Just play”

So basically you become a brick wall that doesn’t waver when hit, or, you with just fall back (flop) when you can’t challenge a shot without making body contact. Or, the option I prefered most, quit and go to the playground where you can play more physical defense.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

