heroic hetero

“No one wants to live in fear. I’ve always been scared of saying the wrong thing. I don’t sleep well. I never have. But each time I tell another person, I feel stronger and sleep a little more soundly. It takes an enormous amount of energy to guard such a big secret. I’ve endured years of misery and gone to enormous lengths to live a lie. I was certain that my world would fall apart if anyone knew. And yet when I acknowledged my sexuality I felt whole for the first time. I still had the same sense of humor, I still had the same mannerisms and my friends still had my back.”

Jason Collins

“So Jason Collins is a hero because he’s gay? Our standard for heroism has dropped quite a bit since Normandy.”

“Jason Collins averaged 1.1 PPG, 1.6 RPG, and 0.3 BPG. All more relevant than the fact that he’s gay.”

Ben Shapiro

Ben Shapiro is a troll and an asshole. I like calling people assholes. I don’t like calling people trolls. It is bad form, and habit, to dismiss people you disagree with as trolls. I don’t think Glen Beck is a troll. I don’t think Bill O’Reilly is troll. I don’t think the MSNBC liberals are trolls. These people typically annoy me, and I disagree with them profoundly, but I think they are somewhat sincere (of course, if Beck is sincere it raises other issues). Shapiro is firmly in Coulter territory. They should be mocked, or more preferably, ignored. When Ben Shapiro, who does not personally think Jesus rose from the dead, complains that Google did not honor Jesus’s resurrection (which Shapiro doesn’t think even happened) by decorating a search engine with pagan imagery, what can you really say? It is appropriate to mock, and best to just ignore.

In this case, I couldn’t help mocking. The first quote is from a man who is paid to play basketball. The second is from someone paid for political writing and commentary. I spent a minute thinking of a funny yet not incredibly crude punchline, but I think Shapiro provides it himself. If you want, construct your own, referencing season stats on “Friends of Hamas articles” produced.

Ben Shapiro has the intelligence to read an article in Sports Illustrated and get an idea as to why Jason Collins is a hero of sorts. But trolls are smart enough to get around their own intelligence (I refuse to believe that people like Ann Coulter could construct such brilliantly offensive and idiotic instigations without enough brain power to be aware of the idiocy – the political troll is 1/10th as smart as they think they are but 100 times smarter than they act). Shapiro has a roll to play, and if Jason Collins is the story of the day, he’ll play it. Shapiro is the true hero! He’ll standup to liberal elite anti-Easter media-academic complex and tell them where to shove their gay worship!

Of course, the other angle is that this is roughly as homophobic Ben Shapiro can be today, and that is a sign of progress. Certainly, there was a time when someone like Shapiro could have gotten away with “Jason Collins is not a hero because he is gay,” without the question mark. There is certainly plenty of homophobia out there, but for those that want to be taken seriously in the US, you need an exit. The easiest strategy is to repackage your opposition to LGBT rights as opposition to the struggle for those rights because…ummm…well, ya know….like, Ben Shapiro doesn’t even see gay. Ben Shapiro judges people by per game averages and World War II stormings – it is the liberal media that still makes a big deal out of sexuality. The real bigots!

Jason Collins’ sexuality is not a big deal because the liberal media want it to be. It is a big deal because Jason Collins, “endured years of misery.” It is a big deal because so many people experience at least that much misery – misery, homelessness, suicide, etc. which is completely pointless. If Ben Shapiro doesn’t want someone’s sexuality to be an issue he should stop complaining about the non-Shapiro media, and direct his angst at himself:

The gay community wishes to hijack marriage and use it as a shield to legitimize traditionally immoral behavior. By opposing gay marriage, traditionally moral folks prevent the gay community from having its way. But by the same exact standard, the gay community’s insistence that homosexuality be respected — their insistence that figures from Pope Benedict to Rick Warren treat homosexuality as a perfectly acceptable way of life — hurts religious people. By opposing religious people’s freedom to articulate their view on homosexuality, they encroach on religious freedom. (link).

LOL. I’m married. I never thought I’d get married. As a child, I thought marriage was insane. You mean, you share a house with someone who is not your father, mother or sibling? Couldn’t they kill you in your sleep?! I was young and paranoid, but really, I blame it on Robert Stack. I got older, and more importantly, met someone. That person is a woman so when we got married there was no discussion as to whether we had infringed on anyone’s rights. I don’t want to reduce everything to marriage rights, but in this case it is a really clear example. Jason Collins’ sexuality is a big deal because Ben Shapiro thinks of it intolerant, immoral, and hurtful to morons like himself.

Earlier I pointed out the disconnect between the respective professions and degrees of eloquence/intelligence of Collins and Shapiro. Turns out Collins is a more thoughtful and eloquent writer than myself; the only response I have to Shapiro in light of the shit he himself has written is – Ben Shapiro should truly go fuck himself in the most traditionally immoral fashion he can imagine.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to heroic hetero

  1. Ian Seda says:

    Damn rRbert Stack, had a whole generation freeked out!

  2. rebellol says:

    “roll to play” good job joey.

Leave a Reply

